Skip to content

A Sunday Update

August 3, 2009

So I’ve made it through the first 3 weeks of school. Successfully. As boring as it was I passed Power Point, Outlook Express ( yes seriously ,they’re both part of the microsoft office course i need to take/pass) and Business Communications.  This past week I had a couple of quizzes , the exam for Business communications and a final assignment for b.c which consisted of an oral fucking presentation ( using powerpoint ). It was crap but I survived. I was mroe pissed off that despite being prepared I felt so unprepared for hte prsentation because the teacher ‘s outline/assignment was so fucking vague. It almost literally said prepare an oral presentation and slide show. No guidelines!

This week I am off from school ( tomorrow is a Civic Holiday and D also has the day off 🙂 ) which I am so pleased about and also next week I don’t haev to go to school at night anymore. While it’s not 8-1 it’s 1-5 and anything is better than 6-10.

Yesterday morning after months of telling myself to go  , planning to go I actually called the salon when I woke up err D woke me up and was lucky enough to get an appointment in 30 minutes. My belly button length brown hair is now bra length and blonde. Not bleach blonde which I am having a hard time with kinda because anytime i’ve been blonde its been that shade so it’s kinda hard to convince myself or realize that there ARE other shades of blonde that aren’t orange.I think I just need to get used to it because no one else has said it’s orange so perhaps it’s just me . Although nice people wouldn’t tell you that your newly done hair is orange, would they?

After the hair stuff I came home and D and I went to a reception/celebratory dinner for his friend and his wife ( pregnant) . It was awkward because it was obvious everyone else knew each other and D and I basically talked to each other. We ended up having one drink , giving them their gifts , wishing them well and leaving We came home and had a lazy afternoon or what was left of it and I cooked D a steak w/ mushrooms and onions , some asparagus with shredded canadian cheddar and some chicken breasts that had been marinated in the crack that is PC honey mustard marinade. Seriously still addicted.

This morning we got up early and showered and got on the road , stopping at Tim Horton’s on the way for provisions . I/e , and iced coffee for me and a coffee for D  and we drove to the cottage. D finally finished any and all plumbing work ( knock on wood ) unless something breaks so we do not have a reason to HAVE to go unless we want to . Which I must say is a good feeling to have your weekends , yours again . I read some of the Time Traveler’s Wife on the way up and while I was there ( the writing style or i guess plot in this case, or thus far is somewhat confusing to me but I am getting used to it ) because the movie is coming out soon and I have a thing about seeing movies before I’ve read the book . D’s mom talked way too much and asked me way too many questions while we were trying to watch a movie that SHE wanted to watch . Reading with her around is fruitless. She is always asking things like how is the book or is it a good book or what is going on in your book and I feel like saying, well if you shut up for awhile I will be able to tell you . While watching the movie she asked if I wanted a margarita and I said yes but apparently what I think is a margarita or the style of margarita I like is entirely different than what she thinks it is because what she served me came in a margarita glass but had no ice. No shaved or crushed ice. No ice cubes. It was so acidy and literally just yellow liquid smelling of booze and sweeteness. She drank hers quickly and when she went outside to tend to a mouthy Harken I tossed mine down teh drain , placing our empty glasses on the counter. I went and did something and when I returned she had refilled the glasses! I told her I didn’t want anymore so she said  oh its already poured if you don’t want it just leave it. So I did and by the time me and D left after an early dinner she had drank 4. I was more shocked to see her relax like that than anything .

Dinner was awesome because we had stopped at a farmer’s stand on the way and got cucumber, 2 dozen corn , broccoli and cauliflower .His dad bbq’d some ribs for them and I had a piece of chicken and some new potatoes with dill from the herb garden me and D’s mom planted from seeds that I swore would not  grow prior to the end of summer. And well now I’m home . I really don’t have any plans for tomorrow aside from making a killer lasagna and reading and relaxing. I am ecstatic to be able to plan actual dinners again and cook daily rather than relying on convenience foods and take out. Apparently, I do care about eating 😛

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 3, 2009 12:29 pm

    congrats on getting through round one of school – and that presentation does sound difficult, to say the least!

    I thought this was a cute entry – you sound happier than you’ve sounded in a while.

    • soupoflife permalink*
      August 3, 2009 7:29 pm

      Thanks 🙂
      I don’t know that I’m happier but maybe I’m just dealing better. Who knows.

  2. Nicole Smart permalink
    August 3, 2009 6:19 pm

    LOL doesn’t sound like any margarita i’ve seen, either. They are usually kinda green with a lime wedge and tons of crushed ice. I’d have called hers some kind of martini and asked to use the blender or a rolling pin and ziploc bag of ice 😉 Sounds like you had a good weekend. I saw the previews for that movie, and it seems a bit mushy and romantic…and reminds me of some movie I saw a few years ago with-I want to say sandra bullock-the person who comes back from the dead or some such and the girl falls in love with him and then he goes back to the dead. I can’t really remember tho.

    • soupoflife permalink*
      August 3, 2009 7:30 pm

      well it was a green-y yellow color.
      I think youa re thinking of the lakehouse which i love btw
      The time travelers wife is sophie’s fav book I think

      • my3tots permalink
        August 5, 2009 3:38 am

        oh yes the lakehouse. was kinda sad as I remember.

Leave a Reply

