Skip to content

Not So Motivated

June 20, 2009

Quote of the day : A little sincerity is a dangerous thing, and a great deal of it is absolutely fatal. -Oscar Wilde

So no sincerity is best?Or just the tiniest bit of it is ok ? Or is the point that sincerity is good if done right but if done wrong can be just horrible ? This one is a head scratcher.

A story about a woman who sued Quaker Oats because she said she believed the crunch “berries ” in Capatain Crunch were actual berries and ate them for years for health benefits. Who knows if the story is true or not but it gave me a good laugh.

Last night I stayed up way too late. Drank far too much Diet Coke amongst other things and watched trashy television shows online. It’s been raining all day so it hasn’t exactly been very motivating for me . I’ve got little done other than tidying up the kitchen and going to the butcher . The plan is to go to the grocery store later today /evening but I will be surprised if that happens. Our grocery store is having some sort of thing going on where there is no tax today and tomorrow on almost everything. If you have a Superstore near you , check it out.

Food stuff yesterday ended up involving some sweet potato fries and part of a homemade burger I had grilled on the Foreman and had on half a soft bakery bun of some kind . I topped my burger with some old Canadian cheddar, loads of pickles and fresh baby spinach. Yum .

I would like to try making my own sweet potato fries next time rather then the frozen ones I’ve been buying in a much too small bag. I saw some sweet potatoes at the Farmer’s Market but one was just huge. Like enough for four people huge! Are they always that big?

As for today I had a lot of coffee this morning with some Irish Cream coffeemate stuff ( click the link for a pretty good coupon especially if it’s already on sale 😉 While I have pretty much given up on breakfast during the week , breakfast well more like brunch is pretty much a given on the weekend around here. During the week it is just me and I find it much easier to just say no to the meal I don’t really want to eat in the first place and would only eat it because it’s healthier. I cannot say that I miss circulating the same breakfast foods in phases over and over . Egg white omlettes with cheese . Bagels . It sounds like torture to me now and I am finding it much easier to just do the 1-2 meals a day . Even if they are larger meals.

Before when I ate breakfast I found it very difficult to eat dinner because I felt like wow I’ve been eating since however many hours ago , I really shouldn’t have much now especially with it being later in the day . Now I feel comfortable eating a normal ( for me ) sized dinner because I haven’t had anything or much of anything prior to make me feel guilty for it It is also so much easier to plan /choose /cook dinners.

I have all these little add on type thingies on my Igoogle . One of them is from Wikihow and each day theyput 3 or 4 How-To’s of the day .Here’s one from today :

Today is World Sauntering Day . Do you know how to take a leisurely stroll?
Then they go into detail on how to take a walk which they make sound a lot more like meditation than a walk . One of their tips is to wander and also to look up . Both of which may be dangerous but I suppose if you are in a Zen state of mind you may survive .

-soup

5 Comments leave one →
  1. my3tots permalink
    June 21, 2009 4:26 am

    can relate to the breakfast vs dinner thing. on the walking, was at a couple of campy-resorty things with a group last year and they had meditation mazes (labyrinth) on the premises. one out of concrete, the other out of shells. i guess you are supposed to meditate or pray whatever while walking slowly thru it.

  2. soupoflife permalink*
    June 21, 2009 1:13 pm

    While I know I should be of the mindset that breakfast is fuel for the day ahead or whatever , but I’m more the mindset of well I just woke up what do I need to eat already for.
    Interesting about the walking thing. I don’t think I am coordinated enough for that.

    • my3tots permalink
      June 21, 2009 2:10 pm

      yeah im so not a morning person either lol involves lots of coffee, laptop, tv if i have no where to be. usually do a special k bar to keep it simple. for about two years it was oatmeal or bagel, because the whole plate and utensils thing is too complicated first thing in morning.

      the first time i did the labyrinth, i did it in a group as a quiet team building exercise or some crap. i thought it was silly and pointless, walking a circle following outlines of shells. the second time i was up in the mountains and just stared at my feet and thought a lot. I felt very peaceful when i finished it, guess it got me STILL (in my head)which i dont do well.

  3. Amanda permalink
    June 27, 2009 1:40 am

    I head about that woman suing quaker oats. That’s kind of nutty. I mean who could possibly think captain crunch could be healthy?

    • soupoflife permalink*
      June 27, 2009 1:57 pm

      LOL i know . Its like thinking frosted flakes are bran flakes

Leave a Reply

